Congratulations 2016 Scholars

The OSU Alumni Club of Ross County announces this year’s freshmen scholars. There are 7 Ross County graduating seniors planning to attend the Ohio State University this fall who are receiving $6000 in scholarships from the Betty & Robert Jones Scholarship Fund. The 2016 scholars are: Zach DeCamp, Unioto; Emma Downing, Chillicothe; Kayla Hopkins, Huntington; Elena Knipp, Unioto; Chenoa Brooke Palmer, Zane Trace; Madi Rout, Unioto; Phillip Van Hooser, Unioto.


Some of this year’s scholarship recipients met with 2 of Bob and Betty Jones’ children: Tracy Edwards and Keith Jones at the club’s annual banquet. Since 1991, the club has awarded over $100,000 in academic scholarships and has been recognized by the university as awarding more students than any other group of its kind.

The Ohio State University Alumni Club of Ross County funds two merit scholarships for Ross County students attending the Ohio State University, the Betty & Robert Jones Scholarship Fund for incoming freshman and the Upper Class Merit Scholarship for returning sophomores, juniors and seniors.

Each year the Ross County alumni club raises money for the upper class scholarships by raffling off a pair of season tickets to Ohio State home games.

A donation from the late Bob and Betty Jones, lifelong Ohio State supporters, endowed the freshman fund in 1996. Sustaining members of the Ohio State University Alumni Association can designate this fund when making an annual contribution.